1 January 2008

Abouts:
Sorry about the late post, but Monday falling on New Year’s Eve, not really an empty day…

Articles:
Who is responsible for dealing with false teaching in the church (Against Heresies)

I’m Just Not Attracted to Her (Boundless)

We shouldn’t be surprised that attraction has such power over us. God designed us that way. He didn’t want us to merely know the truth and do what was right. He wanted us to love the truth; He wanted us to be powerfully attracted to the good. Ultimately, He made us to love and be attracted to the most beautiful person in the universe — Him! So He created beauty in this world, not as an end in itself for our selfish pleasure, but as a means to the end of our ultimate pleasure in Him (Psalm 16:11).

How Not to Lose Your Faith in College (Boundless)

News/Thoughts:
Foul-mouthed customer leaves waitress $50,000 (CNN), when I read the article I just thought how many times I thought my own life serving God all I was doing was serving some old guy who only cares about their own needs and wants, and who is only looking out for their own gain, but I put on a happy face and still serve because it is what I was suppose to do, it was the “right thing to-do,” how far from the truth I was. I think that’s what non-Christians think of the Christian life, when they hear us say that we live to serve our God and worship Him with everything we have, they think what a wasted life, just following rules, because this God said so, but we get to go to heaven after. But what are we going to do in heaven? Is God a grumpy old man too you?

Readings:
Monergism Books “End of the Year Sale,” which they say is their biggest ever sale which I believe with stuff marked down up to 80%, this is probably the last day for the sale so get a buying

Videos:

Verses/Messages:
Romans 15:30-31
Now I urge you, brethren, by our Lord Jesus Christ and by the love of the Spirit, to strive together with me in your prayers to God for me, that I may be delivered from those who are disobedient in Judea, and that my service for Jerusalem may prove acceptable to the saints.

Prayer Changes People’s Wills (Desiring God)