Articles:
Finding Joy In The Mundane (The Blazing Center)

Deacons: Tried and True (Pure Church)

Randoms:
If you ever wanted to know all 613 commandments of the Old Testament

Thoughts:
So random eving I go up to this guy sitting on a bench reading some book and I ask him if he’s busy, he answers with a why, and I ask if he’s heard about the gospel. He’s taken back a little and says, ” The gospel!?” in a sour tone, I said, “Yeah.” Then unexpectedly he gives me a “ha, I’m not religious!” and at the same moment gives me the hand motion that clearly says, “Move along buddy, you’re not wanted here.” That same motion you see when an angry master wants his servant to leave him alone. I was taken back. Out of all the times I’ve done this, I’ve never had this reaction towards me, I’ve had a lot of no’s but never something so adverse to the gospel. While walking away, I really wanted to feel like punching him, but I could not but feel sad for him. That guy will go in life pushing and pushing aside the gospel not wanting to hear it, not wanting to think about it and have nothing to do with it. He’s going to wave that hand every instant the cross is presented and that will harden his heart even more every time.

Recently I watched a debate with James White and a Muslim, and I saw the same exact motion, no, he didn’t wave off James White, but he did wave him off with his attacks. It’s these moments that I rejoice in my salvation.

Videos:
Ben Gibbard (of Death Cab for Cutie) – Carolina

Verses:
1 John 4:20
If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen.

What does it mean when it says what is seen and what is not seen? One is in-front of you eyes, the other cannot be seen by the eyes those making it harder to perceive. Of course God is not seen and a brother or sister is seen but what does that have to do with love? Love is only some kind of feeling, right? Wrong, we must look at the previous verses to see that love is so much more than an expression. Verses 7 and 8 gives us the necessary foundation we need to validate the claim that the subject is a liar.

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love. (1 John 4:7-8)

In verse 9 God “manifests” that love through sending His Son.  Then, I think most importantly to understanding this passage is verse 10:

In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. (1 John 4:10)

We are told the source of that love. The mainspring that love is manifested through and from  and in, it is God! And it is brought about from the cross.

So to answer the question in the beginning, how can they relate the sense of sight to love, it comes down to faith. John eloquently shows us faith is from this love and if one does not have this faith, he has not loved, and thus cannot say “I love God,” and hate his brother, for he is a liar and sadly perishing, for he presents to others what he thinks is genuine faith genuine love, but is really only clearly saying he has no God.

4 Responses to

  1. Matthew Ng says:

    People’s response to the gospel is very sobering sometimes. It just goes to show how much God is sovereign, that he has full control over the heart. It is not by our works that we save, but God alone. “For we are the circumcision, who worship by the Spirit of God and glory in Christ Jesus and put no confidence in the flesh” (Phillipians 3:3)

    I admire your love for the gospel and desire to share it. I pray that I would have that same vigilance at my workplace.

  2. […] Love for the Gospel That guy will go in life pushing and pushing aside the gospel not wanting to hear it, not wanting to think about it and have nothing to do with it. He’s going to wave that hand every instant the cross is presented and that will harden his heart even more every time. […]

  3. e34m50tu says:

    Wow…good stuff. But you know, what you did was easier than if I were to do the same at my job. See, you were able to walk away and keep most of your lifestyle intact.

    Had I done the same, I run the risk of losing my job. Ministering in corporate environments is dangerous, a battle all its own i think. But kudos to you.

  4. frutypop says:

    1 John 4:20
    If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not see.

    This is so difficult to do– to love other people who are not that lovable. But despite the difficulty, God always helps us find ways to make it easy and then we realize how easy it is to love God because He is just so wonderful and awesome and majestic. It is only through Him that our faith is enlarged–large enough to have the capacity to love the unlovable– and it is by His grace that we are equipped with the courage to tell the world about His love.

Leave a Reply

