Abouts:
It’s sad but you can kind of tell how much I didn’t want to study from this post

Articles/Thoughts:
Talking to People Rather than About Them (Desiring God), reading Respectful Sins has truly opened my eyes more to the world of sin I live in and has helped me recognize those sins in my life that I “tolerate.” It really goes back to the old repeated saying where how big your view of God is, is reflected through your life dealing with sin, and it’s so true. How holy of a God you have in mind, is reflected on how you think about sin. Is your God holy enough to say gossiping is not acceptable? Is your God holy enough to say that that pride you feel is evil? Is your God holy enough to say that calling someone fat is totally and utterly unacceptable? Do we repent when we talk behind someone’s back, do we repent when we think angry thoughts? How holy is your God?

Audios:
I think I should say a little bit more to entice you to listen to the music, to continue with the indie trend: Ingrid Michaelson, she has somewhat of an playful tone, a rockish edge sometimes shows up, but she has a nice smooth voice (keep in mind I am not a music reviewerer)

Crazy thing is all of them (Meiko, Priscilla Ahn, and Ingrid Michaelson) play regularly at The Hotel Cafe in LA, which is not where I discovered them, but when I turn 21 I will definitely head over there

Randoms:
Alarm clocks to lust after but to get angry over, if you actually owned them, my favorite would probably be the Rug Alarm, worst would be the decorating one

Rejected Star Wars toys, my favorite is the Force

25 Skills Every Man Should Know, not really, but interesting for what it is

This week’s Desiring God sale is on there Don’t Waste your Life Group Study Kit

Readings:
Her is an updated list of books Monergism suggests are Top Ten Books on Piety, Sanctification, Spiritual Growth

Videos:

Verses/Thoughts:
Philippians 3:18-21
For many, of whom I have often told you and now tell you even with tears, walk as enemies of the cross of Christ. Their end is destruction, their god is their belly, and they glory in their shame, with minds set on earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.

Looking through photos and notes and what-not on facebook, distracting myself from my studies, I found myself looking at friends who have once, maybe still do, consider themselves Christian seeing what they are doing now and how far they have gone in life. I found myself not so surprised but saddened, seeing them loving the world and everything that comes with it, playing Beer Pong, relaxing with a nice cigarette while proudly making out with their friend. (Even as it is only through facebook I see this, sometimes the subtle areas of life show the most change in someone’s life, as it is usually not a 180 turn at one specific moment, but a gradual change by change) I kept digging deeper and still more friends down that same hole, but then I looked at myself didn’t see anything too different. I am a wretched sinner that needs Christ as much as my friends do. You know the only difference I see that this passage clearly states is that we (Christians), “await a Savior.” We are looking forwards to the end, where God will be glorified through us. We need to live a life that isn’t of this world, we need to act knowing this is not our home, we need to speak as if Christ is coming in the next second, we need to “await” for our Savior, because He is the only one able to “transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body.” Sola Deo Gloria, because we sure shouldn’t have any.

Leave a Reply

