Abouts:
Alright trying to put this blog back up and running as smoothly as a man with 1 hand and 1 finger can, I will probably describe less though

Not late 11:48pm, still Monday…

Articles/Audios:
Book vs e-Document, personally I find that the book is the winner, but having the internet with it’s endless sources has pulled me away from books a little, but still there is something about physical ownership that gets me

Some more Prodigal Jon stuff, I think I will just put him in the links section now: “The power of e.” and “I speak. I detox. I cut my arm off with a Swiss army knife.

A very interesting article with a title that I don’t even need to describe, “What Would Jesus Bomb,” I put a link to link of the article because I think that Justin Taylor has highlighted the section I was going to anyways

Boasting in Lesser Loves

Continuing on the topic here is an interview with C.J. Mahaney on Biblical Masculinity, sort of long, but worth it, here is the audio

Messages:
Good thing this doesn’t need much of a description, “‘Month of Man’ address” by Dr. Ray Van Neste, for boys who need to be men and need a little guidance, it is a transcript of a message, so if you rather hear it you have that option

Readings:
A section from Francis Turretin’s “Institutes of Elenctic Theology” on a reading outline for the Holy Scriptures, guess what was just added to my book list

Another addition I must add to the list, “The Works of Andrew Fuller

Videos:

Verses:
Philippians 1:29
For it has been granted to you that for the sake of Christ you should not only believe in him but also suffer for his sake

What comes to mind when someone says “grant?” Being in college and poor I think of California grant, it’s that state funding for those who had some score on some test and then they give them $2 to give the state an excuse to say they help their students, but I’m going off on a tangent. The important thing is that that $2 is considered a grant is because it is  something wanted that is offered and something needed that is given. The Greek root for the word used for “grant” here comes from the word for “grace.” Which we usually associate with forgiveness, the ultimate gift, the ultimate grant. But in this verse what is granted to us is not only the gift of knowledge but to also suffer. It’s not you have to suffer for His sake, it’s you can suffer for His sake. You, as a believer, are given the opportunity to suffer for Christ. But what kind of reward is that? What kind of privilege is that? Sounds totally idiotic but “now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I am filling up what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions for the sake of his body, that is, the church.” (Colossians 1:24)

Leave a comment