29 October 2007

Abouts:
Thinking about changing the quote and maybe the whole look of this thing, stay tuned to see if I follow through

Articles:
Have you ever considered dating for a year and then getting married, well Scott Croft, elder at Capitol Hill Baptist Church (Mark Dever’s church) and prolific writer on dating, courtship, and basically anything to do with opposite sex relationships, has written an intriguing article on why to date for only a year and then get married. His basic argument or reason would be “not acting married before you’re married.” 

Finding Reliable Men: Sober, Gentle, Peacemaking, Not a Lover of Money

I think Joe Thorn has written a clear article on the six rules of cultural engagement, which I feel is needed these days when people tend to focus on one’s self. On how to be a better me, but not seeing how that better me affects the world or should affect the world around them, and how one’s own Christianity can be applied to the sinful world

Readings:
Why do you have to do this to me?!?! Fine, I guess another book to add on to the list. More from the book

Are you looking for a BIBLE, do you want an upgrade from your old dusty ripped up student’s edition NIV, well do I have a deal for YOU, jk, well kind of. Ligonier Ministries is going to sell their hardcover Reformation Study Bible (ESV) on October 31 (Wednesday) for ONLY $15.17, CRAZY, it is usually around $30, even on Amazon.com, if you are wondering why follow the link

But if you are looking for a new bible I would also recommend checking out the new Literary Study Bible (ESV), here is a review from Tony Reinke, and if you want a little preview, here is the preface

Randoms:
Crazy good looking animal pictures, I am usually not a fan of animal pictures, or photoshopped pictures, but these are sweet

Satellite picture of the recent fires, crazy

Videos:

Verses:
Philippians 1:6
And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.

God must be the center point of our lives. I grew up with people saying God must be your first priority, your number 1, I was never really satisfied with that answer, not that it doesn’t make sense, it just leaves too much room for interpretation. Does it mean that my number 2 doesn’t have to deal with God? Does it mean that my priorities after God could exclude God from them, could I praise God on Sunday without me trying to evangelize to my unbelieving family after? To think of it more as concentric circles would be better, to see everything go through God first, to see what would give Him more glory (sorry for the Sunday school diagram).
decisions 
That verse just reminded of this because of how it was He who began a good work in you, and it is and always will be Him that brings it to completion. The verse is talking about salvation, so what I was talking about doesn’t really relate, it just reminded of His work and what we should be doing with it.