Abouts:
I apologize before hand, but this post lacks any sort of effort because I’m tired and I’m sick

Things I just want to get over with or get to now (not saying they are not important to me, probably the opposite):
Marriage (includes family)
8-5 job
A car
A house
Loved ones to be saved

Articles:
Homeless man ranked as expert in chess?

If you did not catch it a profile of Joel Osteen was on 60 Minutes, there is a transcript and a 11-minute video segment of it on there site and it featured an interview with Michael Horton of White Horse Inn, a Professor of Theology and Apologetics at Westminster Seminary California and a prolific writer with books like God of Promise, Putting Amazing back into Grace, Where in the World is the Church, and many more, too bad they didn’t add more of Horton

At Pure Church the first article I mentioned seems to be in a small series on that 1 Timothy passage, anyone looking to be a elder, interested in what an elder is, or just interested for any reason Thabiti Anyabwile has written on Finding Reliable Men: Those Above Reproach, One Woman Man, and Temperate, Self-Controlled, Respectable, hopefully there are more to come

Randoms:
This is a really neat look at 5 thousand years of faith in 90 seconds

Verses:
Genesis 39:6b-9
Now Joseph was handsome in form and appearance. And after a time his master’s wife cast her eyes on Joseph and said, “Lie with me.” But he refused and said to his master’s wife, “Behold, because of me my master has no concern about anything in the house, and he has put everything that he has in my charge. He is not greater in this house than I am, nor has he kept back anything from me except yourself, because you are his wife. How then can I do this great wickedness and sin against God?”

Lately I have been wondering how do I notice and change my motives. It is one of the hardest things to do, because of how sometimes motives are so much apart of the basis for everything and so deep that it is hard to distinguish, but this comment isn’t about me, this is about Joseph and how clearly do we see his motives. As Potiphar’s wife was trying to get Joseph to lie with her, he explains how he cannot. He could of easily said, “Potiphar has put me in charge of everything he has and has given me everything, I cannot betray my master,” but he doesn’t he goes on and says, “How then can I do this great wickedness and sin against God?” I don’t think Potiphar’s wife would care if he had just said the former without saying the latter. Joseph wasn’t motivated with pride to look like a holy man infront of anyone, he wasn’t trying to seem holier than he was, he just said what he felt. He felt that if he did this act of adultery he would be doing a very wicked evil act and sin against God. His motives were clear, but my charge is if you see yourself being fine with the former excuse for not sinning. I think it would be sufficient for a time being, but when more trials come, when depression comes, when anger comes, when something hits you where will you turn to. Your own self-discipline? Your own will-power? Your own reasoning?

Leave a Reply

