Abouts:
I need a vacation to somewhere I have never been and relax there with some good friends. I want to go camping.

Articles:
Pulpit online magazine is going through a very useful series right now on the reliability of the bible, I encourage anyone to read it, of course they are not exhaustive, but they are a good start:
1: Can we trust the New Testament Gospels?
2: The Gospels and the men who wrote them
3: Was it meant to be history?
4: The Gospels as reliable history

Al Mohler has written a nice little article on reading

While on the subject of reading, Challies comes to us with some good tips on reading more and reading better

John Piper explains the Gospel in 6 minutes

Audios:
More free stuff, added to iTunes U now are some classes from Reformed Theological Seminary

Videos:

 

Thoughts:
In the video section is a video basically about not wasting your time in life by setting your priorities right. I feel like this topic has been discussed a lot already, but I also feel that we never always remember to not waste our lives.

Readings:
Darkness before the Dawn by Charles Spurgeon

What further should we do in the dark? Well, one of the best things to do in the dark is to stand still and keep our place. “Until the day break and the shadows flee away,” let us keep our place, and firmly maintain our position. A brother who sat at the back of me, twenty years ago, dropped in again recently to hear me preach; and he said to me, after the service, that he had been back in America, and come over here again after twenty years, and he added, “It is the same old story, Spurgeon, as when I was here before; you are sticking to the same old gospel” I replied, “Yes, and if you will come in twenty years’ time, if God spares me, I shall still be sticking to the same old gospel, for I have nailed my colors to the mast, and I do not mean to have anything to do with this new-fangled progressive theology.” To me, the gospel came to perfection long ago in the person of the Lord Jesus Christ, and it can never go beyond that perfection. We preach nothing but that gospel which has saved our own souls, and saved the souls of the myriads who have gone to their eternal rest, and we do not intend preaching anything else until somebody can find us something better, and that will not be to-morrow, nor the day after, nor as long as the world stands. It is dark, very dark, so we just stop where we are, in steadfast confidence in the Lord who has placed us where we are. We are not going to plunge on in a reckless manner, we mean to look before we leap; and as it is too dark to look, we will not leap, but will just abide here hard by the cross, battling with every adversary of the truth as long as we have a right hand to move in the name of the Almighty God, “until the day break, and the shadows flee away.”

One Response to

  1. John Kim says:

    I hear you on the vacation thing – i need to get away …

Leave a Reply

