Abouts:
I have discovered two things, both connected in a way, this summer, downtown San Francisco is boring and tiring and I am an old fart. I mean sure with friends it makes downtown a little more bearable, but I rather be in the home side. Listening to one of my brothers share about his parents getting older and being more at peace, enjoying life just sitting on a couch and staring at the wall, I was thinking to myself, “That sounds relaxing.” My friends are all active and ready to do anything on a whim, always on the move, slow down people, sure I am always up for anything, but my preference would be to sit down, enjoy a nice drink and talk a bit, maybe some music playing in the background. Yeah, I am a old fart. Too bad I look like I am 12 but I feel like I am 40.

Audios:
C.J. Mahaney interviews Mark Dever on “Life and Ministry

John Piper recently gave a few messages on suffering at Wheaton College, if you have listened to Piper before, you have probably heard him touch upon suffering, but give part 4 and the questions and answers some attention

How Can Christians be bold in their Workplaces?” by John Piper, this is from the semi-new podcast/resource from Desiring God, Ask John Piper

Articles:
John Piper reflecting on 200 years of missions in China missions

Challies on bludgeoning with providence, insightful article on God’s will

Sam Storms over at Enjoying God ministries discusses the important aspect of discipline in church today

I read this before and thought about it lately and thought that others might find it informative to say the least (click for original, larger size), if you are interested in the publishers, the magazine it came in is published by the HeartCry Missionary Society, Paul Washer sound familiar (“So Shocking & Biblical the Preacher Was Never Invited Back” message audio and video), he is the founder and director, you can sign up for it for free, or download the PDF version for free, it is worth it

heartcry52-14.jpg
heartcry52-15.jpg

Thoughts:
It has sadden me to see prayer diminished, thought of as salt and pepper to our food, something that is added on to our life, something that is not big enough to be thought as important enough to give it it’s own time in one’s daily life. I mean to read the Bible and not see that prayer is so interwoven into all their aspects of ministry is just absurd.

Kind of going back to the Abouts section on growing up, I find that activities like sports, board games, movies, and what else is just an excuse to get together and “hang out” but what is the purpose. I mean, to me, it seems that it is something to refresh the friendship, so that that friendship can talk at the end of the day, but I just seem to see less of the latter being true, and more of a former to distract us from what is true and real. Of course I am not saying that those things are useless or that the purpose I stated was the only purpose for them.

Videos:


I want a panda now!

Verses:
Colossians 1:28-29
Him we proclaim, warning everyone and teaching everyone with all wisdom, that we may present everyone mature in Christ. For this I toil, struggling with all his energy that he powerfully works within me.

You may have asked yourself why you were not able to handle some difficult questions, why it hurts so much when someone rejects you, why am I not bold enough to talk to my friend of co-worker about Christ. May I ask where your focus/motivation is? Verse 29 clearly points out where your focus should be. When your focus is on your glory, on your knowledge of scientific facts, on pleasing man, on our physical strength I think that is when it goes totally askew. When we seek for another source other than the over abundance that is from God, we are searching for essentially something that is encompassed with sin, saturated with pride, deceit, greed, and lust, and that is when we struggle and fall on our knees and ask, “Why God?!” But if we do rely on that power that I think Philippians shows the immenseness of, we should be excited, joyful in our struggles.

Phillippians 3:20-21
But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.

That power that “enables Him even to subject all things to Himself,” that power is the power that we should be relying on.

Leave a Reply

